Conversion Value
Almost as important as tracking conversions, is tracking the conversion value. Finding the conversion value for a lead generation client is simple. The equation is:
Conversion Value = AOV * Closing Rate
AOV: average order value
Closing rate: the rate of leads that become paying clients
The above conversion value will reflect the revenue generated for each lead. If you want the conversion value to reflect the profits generated by each lead, multiply the AOV by the client’s profit margin.
The AOV is $875. The closing rate is 35%, and the conversion rate is 25%. What is the conversion value?
Conversion value = $875 * 0.35 = $306.25
Let’s look at it another way using the same numbers. Google Ads sends 733 visitors to the site. Given a 35% closing rate and an AOV of $875, what would the total value be? With the given information, all we know is that each lead is worth $306.25, but we have no way to know how many of the 733 visitors became leads. In order to calculate this, we need one more number, the conversion rate. The conversion rate is the rate of clicks that become leads. The conversion rate is 25%.
Total value = visitors * conversion rate * conversion value = 733 * 0.25 * 306.25 = $56,120.31
We are saying that 733 visitors generated 183 leads at $306.25 per lead for total revenue of $56,120. If we want to know what the value per visitor is, we can simply divide the value by the number of visitors.
Value per visitor = total value / visitors = $76.56
We can also calculate the value per visitor when the total value and number of visitors are unknown with the following:
Value per visitor = AOV * closing rate * conversion rate
Value per visitor = $875 * 0.35 * 0.25 = $76.56
This means that as long as we are spending less than $76.56 for each visitor, the account will have a positive ROI. Let’s say the average cost per click was $25 for a total cost of $18,325 (733*$25), and the profit margin given by the client is 45%. In order to find the profits, multiply the total value by the profit margin and subtract the cost.
Profits = (total value * profit margin) – cost
Profits = ($56,120 * 0.45) – $18,325 = $6,929
To find ROI, we take the total value and divide by the cost.
ROI = total value / cost
ROI = $56,120 / $18,325 = 3.06
That means for every $1 spent on the account, the client is generating $3.06 in revenue. You can choose to look at how much the client is generating in profit for each dollar spent by multiplying the total value by the profit margin before dividing it by cost. If you do this, you get 1.38.
All of this is the same with an eCommerce client, except the value/conversion is automatically pulled for each transaction. You only need to calculate the profit. In Google Ads, the ROI is given by the metric “Conv. value / cost”.