Last Updated on September 13, 2024

Why Use Smart Bidding?

Automation will deliver across channels even during dynamic times

Manual bidding is reactive bidding with historical data

Optimizing uncertain campaigns manually means using a batch of data that wouldn’t capture recent trends or over-reacting to shifts. This may not cross-check account data, capture recent trends, or deliver significant data.

Smart Bidding is proactive with recent trends + signals

Smart Bidding will both factor in recent trends across the account, in addition to bidding towards the campaign’s strategy goal.

Smart Bidding can quickly react to changes in recent swings in demand, historical trends (Weekly, hourly, etc), and other signals critical during fluctuations.

How Smart Bidding Works:

  1. True-auction Time Bidding
  2. Adaptive Learning at the query level
  3. Richer user signals and cross signal analysis
    • Audience signals
    • Non-last-click attribution model
    • Store visits data

Bidding Strategies

Why choose Smart Bidding over eCPC?

Smart Bidding strategies have been driving significantly better performance than manual / semi-automated solutions

eCPC is only a semi-automated bidding strategy.

Maximize Conversions uses Google’s AI to determine the correct bid for every auction to drive as many conversions as possible within your budget.

Benefits

Maximizes conversions and helps you spend your budget as efficiently as possible according to Google’s AI. It can be beneficial if you haven’t had a lot of conversion data yet or if you’re unsure what the client’s target CPA is. 

*Even though Google attempts to be efficient with Maximize Conversions, it is best to monitor how the campaign is doing regularly as oftentimes having a Target CPA performs significantly better than Max Conversions.

Use cases

  • You want to maximize the number of conversions for a campaign.
  • You do not have a specific CPA or ROAS goal.
  • Your campaign has low conversion volume or no conversion history.
  • Your campaign is limited by budget and you have <90% impression share.

Requirements

Campaigns must be tracking conversions and cannot be using a shared budget.

Resources

Google Ads Help: Maximizing Conversions Smart Bidding

Attain as many conversions as possible, while maintaining your target CPA

Benefits

Get the most conversions at the target CPA through the power of auction-time bidding.

Use cases

  • You want more conversions at a specific CPA.
  • You’re a lead generation or eCommerce business.

Requirements

Campaigns must be tracking conversions and should not be budget constrained.

Get the highest conversion value possible at your target return on ad spend (ROAS)

Benefits

Gets the most revenue at the target ROAS through the power of auction-time bidding.

Use cases

  • You want to automatically optimize bids to maximize revenue in a shopping campaign.
  • Your conversions vary in value and you want to get as much conversion value as possible at your target return on ad spend.
  • You’re a Lead Generation or an eCommerce business.

Requirements

Value of conversions shared through Google Ads conversion tracking or imported Google Analytics goals.

Minimum conversions required: 15 conversions passing conversion values through Google Ads within 30 days.

How to Calculate

ROAS bids generate the maximum amount of conversion value and take into account the desired return on ad spend as chosen by the advertiser. 

The advertiser must enter the Target ROAS as a percentage using the following formula:

Conversion value ÷ ad spend x 100% = Target ROAS percentage

For example, if a business spends $200 and this generates $1,000 in revenue (or conversion value), then the ROAS is 500%. 

$1,000 ÷ $200 x 100% = 500%

It’s useful to work backwards by determining how much ROAS the business needs in order to be profitable. The above is essentially saying the business needs to make $5 for every $1 that’s spent on Google Ads.

How to identify which Smart Bidding strategy should you use?

Best Practices

  1. Campaigns need to have 30 conversions a month to be affective.
  2. Implement a non-last-click attribution model
  3. Add audience lists at the account level
  4. Campaigns should not be budget-constrained
  5. Impression share should not be maxed out
  6. Test for at least 30-60 days.
  7. When constrained by budget use Maximize Strategy.

Most Common Pitfalls

  1. Using too aggressive of CPA or ROAS goal
  2. Analyzing performance when the strategy is still in the learning period
  3. Overlooking high conversion delay when analyzing performance
  4. Looking at the wrong metrics
  5. Campaign is budget constrained
  6. Making constant changes to campaigns

Analysis

To get an accurate understanding of your performance with Smart Bidding, it’s important that you don’t run your analysis too early. There are two factors that impact how long
you should wait before assessment:

Learning period

The learning period is the period of time in which Google Ads gathers the performance data it needs to optimize your bids.

The more stable, long-term data points they have, the better they can form predictions and optimize to meet your goals.

It typically takes 2 to 3 weeks for the algorithm to calibrate for a newly implemented bid strategy, although this largely depends on the amount of conversion data present.

Time Lag for Conversions

Tools > Search Attribution
Paths > Time Lag

 

The average time it takes for a click to result in an online conversion is your standard time lag for conversions.

You can see exactly how many days are left in your campaign’s learning period in your Bid Strategy Report.

Check the Right Metrics Based on Bidding Strategy

When using tCPA, compare Actual CPA with Campaign Target CPA.
When using tROAS, compare Actual ROAS with Campaign Target ROAS.
When using Maximize Conversions, analyze conversion volume.
When using Maximize Conversion Value, analyze conversion value.

Google Academy Training

Here is a pdf of the video slides for quick referencing.

Here are the slides from the Sebo Google Training on May 7, 2020.